top of page


C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy

The C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy is awarded to an eminent agronomist at each national conference of the Society. It is the most prestigious Australian award in Agronomy.
Pictured: Emeritus Professor Colin Malcolm Donald 1910-1985


CM Donald Medal Recipients              Biographical Memoirs C.M. Donald


2015 Medal Winner: Prof. Graeme Blair     2017 Application Form


Young Agronomist of the year

In 2006 the Society introduced a Young Agronomist of the Year award to increase awareness and opportunities for younger members of the profession. 

Young Agronomist Award Recipients             2017 Application Form

Pictured above: Andrew Whitlock, inaugural winner Young Agronomist of the Year (2006)


In 2012 the Society introduced Fellowships.  Winners of the Fellowships will be designated as Fellows of the Australian Society of Agronomy. Fellowships shall be awarded for important contributions to agronomy.

Australian Society of Agronomy Fellows       2017 Application Form  


Conference Bursaries

The Society offers financial support to students attending the Australian Agronomy Conference on a competitive basis. Application forms for the 18th Agronomy Australia conference will be available later in 2017.


Conference Bursary Awardees

External awards that may interest Agronomists

Travel Grants (Study Awards)

Since its establishment in 1964 the AW Howard Memorial Trust has awarded more than 300 Travel Grants (called “Study Awards” on the Trust’s website) to pasture researchers and extension workers, in many cases post-graduate students and early-career researchers, to allow them to attend and present their research at national and international conferences relevant to pastures or to undertake study tours in pursuit of their research goals. The Trust is now seeking applications for Study Awards in 2017. Each successful applicant will receive up to $5,000 in support of travel costs. 


Note: This is the call for applications for support to attend the forthcoming 18th Australian Agronomy Conference, Ballarat, 24-28 September 2017 and the forthcoming 19th Australian Rangeland Society Biennial Conference, Port Augusta, 24-28 September. 

Australian Graziers or Rangeland Pastoralists Study Award

This Award is to enable an Australian pastoralist (farmer, grazier or rangeland pastoralist) to undertake a study tour (in Australia or overseas) to examine pastoral systems and practices that will deliver economic, environmental or social benefits to Australian pastures or rangelands or to rural communities. An amount of up to $20,000 may be provided to the successful applicant.



Small Grants-in-Aid (up to $5,000) are awarded to Australian organisations, associations or individuals for projects that will promote the goals of the AW Howard Memorial Trust. 


Further information

Further information is available on the Trust’s web site  

Submission of AW Howard Memorial Trust applications 

Those who wish to apply for an AW Howard Memorial Trust award should visit the Howard Trust website, click on the relevant award, download the application form and submit their application to the Trust’s Executive Officer (Ms Jo Slade) before 31 March. Applicants are advised to email applications using the Trust’s email address:

bottom of page