top of page

Society Awards

2024 Award nomination forms will become available in January 2024

C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy

Emeritus Professor

Colin Malcolm Donald


The C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy is awarded to an eminent agronomist at each national conference of the Society. The C.M. Donald Medal is the most prestigious Australian award in Agronomy.
Pictured: Emeritus Professor Colin Malcolm Donald 1910-1985


CM Donald Medal Recipients                                    Biographical Memoirs C.M. Donald 

The 2022 Donald Medal was awarded to Dr Brian Keating,
formerly CSIRO (1981 – 2020), currently Adjunct Professor, Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation (QAAFI), University of Queensland
Donald Oration: From white pegs to silicon chips: Fifty years (1973-2022) of Australian agronomy 



In 2012 the Society introduced Fellowships.  Winners of the Fellowships will be designated as Fellows of the Australian Society of Agronomy. Fellowships shall be awarded for important contributions to agronomy.

Australian Society of Agronomy List of Fellows       


Three Fellowships were awarded at the 2022 Australian Agronomy Conference:
Professor Shu Fukai                                          Professor Derrick Moot                                                     Professor Victor Sadras



Young Agronomist of the year 

In 2006 the Society introduced a Young Agronomist of the Year award to increase awareness and opportunities for younger members of the profession. 

List of Young Agronomist Award Recipients

Two Young Agronomist Awards were presented
at the 2022 Australian Agronomy Conference              Corrinne Celestina                                                         Bonnie Flohr



Posthumous certificate of recognition

2019 - Dr Neil Fettell NSW

bottom of page