top of page


C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy

The C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy is awarded to an eminent agronomist at each national conference of the Society. It is the most prestigious Australian award in Agronomy.
Pictured: Emeritus Professor Colin Malcolm Donald 1910-1985


CM Donald Medal Recipients             


Biographical Memoirs C.M. Donald 



In 2012 the Society introduced Fellowships.  Winners of the Fellowships will be designated as Fellows of the Australian Society of Agronomy. Fellowships shall be awarded for important contributions to agronomy.

Australian Society of Agronomy Fellows       


Young Agronomist of the year

In 2006 the Society introduced a Young Agronomist of the Year award to increase awareness and opportunities for younger members of the profession. 

Young Agronomist Award Recipients            

Student Conference Bursaries

The Society offers financial support to students attending the Australian Agronomy Conference on a competitive basis. 

Bursaries are awarded on a competitive basis and are available only to Australian citizens undertaking tertiary studies in agriculture or in a closely related field at an academic institution in Australia. For 2017 each student bursary award will provide one free student conference registration and up to $500 to cover travel and accommodation expenses incurred in attending the 2017 Australian Agronomy conference in Ballarat, Victoria.

Bursaries are only awarded to applicants who attend the conference and preference will be given to those who present a paper (oral or thumbnail) at the conference. Selection of successful applicants will be made by the Bursary Committee. Remuneration is provided at or after the conference upon the presentation of receipts for travel and accommodation.

In 2017 there will be two student bursaries available. In addition Phosyn Analytical are providing a bursary for an early career agronomist interested in soil, water and plant tissue testing. Please indicate on the application form if you wish to apply for the student bursary or the early career agronomist bursary.

Conference Bursary Awardees                   

2017 award winners
Prof. Tim Reeves, Agronomy Australia 2017 Donald Medallist
Prof. Tim Reeves
2017 Donald Medallist
2017 Agronomy Australia Fellows Professor Jim Pratley and Dr John Angus
Professor Jim Pratley and Dr John Angus
2017 Fellows
Professor Jim Pratley and Dr John Angus
2017 Fellows
Agronomy Australia 2017 Young Agronomists of the Year Dr Felicity Harris and Dr Matthew Harrison
Dr Felicity Harris (NSW DPI) & Dr Matthew Harrison (UTAS) 
2017 Young Agronomists
Agronomy Autralia 2017 Conference bursary winners Monia Anzooman, Corinne Celestina, Brenton Leske
Monia Anzooman - 2017 Phosyn Analytical bursary winner 
Corinne Celestina and Brenton Leske 2017 Agronomy Australia bursary winners

A W Howard Oration

The 2017 Howard Oration was given by Dr Mike Ewing at the 18th Australian Agronomy Conference in Ballarat Victoria on Monday 25 September, 5.00 pm.

bottom of page